Mile 21: The Last Minute Tweak

I’m well aware that my blogging has so far come short of the 26 miles intended, but I’m also aware that I’ve incessantly hassled and corralled you all into very generous donations and there’s not many more postings you can take (don’t worry, there’ll be more to come after the race!).

But today’s posting really is a stroke of luck. I’ve been quietly hobbling through this last period of “wind-down” convincing myself that my right shin muscle ache is just last minute nerves – but today’s light run emphasised the problem was not going away.

And then I came across a stall at the Marathon Expo today giving free tape applications. I described my problem to the guy applying the tape and with one click of his wrist, bam! Everything clicked back into place.


I won’t bore you with the long-winded story including a conversation with a woman from my Dad’s home town of Amsterdam which led me to the stall in the first place, but I think I must have been Buddhist in an earlier life – because I believe fate seems to have played the last card in getting me to the starting line in good health.

And considering where I was 10 years ago, that’s no exaggeration!

Thank you all for your heart-felt encouragement and your generous donations. They will help me get across the finishing line.


http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/michaelnollet

Leave a Reply

