Mile 9: An après-ski diet

Mile 9… This is where it starts to get a bit harder. And after a week of indulgence in the French Alps, washing down tartiflette with generous gulps of vin de Savoie, replacing the marathon regime with slip-sliding around on two waxy thin planks; I’m going to feel the pinch getting back to running.

img_6209

This is me possibly battling a hang-over as I prepare to roll down the Grandes Drozes again. But a few days later, as I press down on the accelerator driving back home, Monika suggests we start a detox diet.

I try to keep the car from swerving (I’m feeling like John Candy in Planes, Trains and Automobiles) because I’ve never tried a diet in my entire life! Serious.

“Yeah, let’s give it a go!” I say, hoping the feeling will subside. But no, she’s got the EU roaming figured out, and she’s reading out loud…

“The GM Diet for 2017: General Motors 7-Day Weight Loss Plan… you must avoid alcohol altogether for the entire week…”

OK. So where do we go from here?

“Day 1: Consume only fruits throughout the entire day.”

img_6335

Will this make me go faster? Not a hope in hell. Just another madcap idea to throw into the mix!

PLEASE SPONSOR MY MARATHON AND DONATE TO BRAIN RESEARCH TRUST

 

 

Leave a Reply

