Mile 1: The Beginning

RUN.jpg
When I was at school I used to be quite good at long-distance running… I could sprint the first bit knowing that everyone else would then give up and let me win in peace.

But then life got a bit more complicated and I grew up and – as my small pond turned into a big sea – an idea that one day I might run the London Marathon lay dormant in the back of my mind.
Fast forward fourteen years, and out of the blue – in 2006 – I was diagnosed with a brain tumour operation. Given around five years without surgery, it was a very humbling experience … and in the end, I was one of the lucky ones. Full of gratitude and awe, I promised myself that one day I would re-pay my debt to all the doctors and to all the research that made it possible to live beyond my late thirties.
Once again – that idea tucked itself into a warm, cosy place  without fruition.

RUNNING TRACK 1: Future Starts Slow (by The Kills)

“You can holler, you can wail
You can swing, you can flail
You can fuck like a broken sail
But I’ll never give you up

If I ever give you up my heart will surely fail”

But a few years ago, with grey flecks appearing in my hair and bones beginning to creak – I started running again and the London Marathon came back into my mind. It was time to shake off some dust. That’s when I discovered the Brain Research Trust.
First Question of their charity place application form: “Why do you want to run for us?”… well now, that was easy! But the second question was harder to answer:
“How much do you realistically believe you can raise for Brain Research Trust?…”
So at Mile 1 of my 26.2 mile blog journey, this is where I start slowly… with a plead for your sponsorship, however large or small!
Leave a Reply

